Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

Is punk a (dis)organized religion or spirituality?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by J-Ratt313, Mar 19, 2013.

1. J-Ratt313

J-Ratt313 New Member New Member

Mar 19, 2013
     Canada
    Hey all,

Shouting out to all you fellow dregs who are fighting to stop the world from destroying itself through being ignorant to the shit we are in. I am currently studying Religious Studies at a Canadian university (don't get me wrong most all the people in this field are atheist or agnostic at least and I am certainly not becoming a priest at the end of my studies) and I'm in a course about Implicit or Secular Religion. We have studied Disney, star wars and star trek fandom from the view of them holding the same characteristics of a spiritual or religious group. We also looked at rave goers as religious and the super-obsessive pop band followers too. So my question is, do you all think Punk could be a form of lose-knit non-organized secular spiritual community (not religious per say).
    I think I am literally the first to write a paper on this, and many of my punk friends agree there is something (not godly at all but powerful) that binds us all together, keeps us committed to the cause, gets us to take up anarchistic and anti-establishment views, and for many more hard-core than myself, drives them to forsake the modern consumer world for a smaller and REALER existence in communes and as street punks. I just wanted your takes on this to see if I am alone in this view and as far as the field of Secular religious studies goes Punk fits well in to the framework used for most of all the other studies. \m/

2. Rebellious twit

Rebellious twit Experienced Member Experienced member

Jul 21, 2012