Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

Omega Tribe - Punk from United Kingdom - Biography & Full Album Download MP3

Omega Tribe

Punk Band from United Kingdom formed in 1981

Omega Tribe are an English anarcho-punk band, formed in Barnet, London in 1981. With the roles of Hugh Vivian on guitar and vocals, Daryl Hardcastle on bass, Pete Fender on guitar and Pete Shepherd on drums, their first EP, Angry Songs, was produced by Penny Rimbaud and Pete Fender for Crass Records in 1982.

Their subsequent LP, No Love Lost, (released by Corpus Christi Records, 1983) won the hearts of many hardened anarchos and secured their place in anarcho-punk history. A far more melodic style, encouraged by producer and new guitarist Pete Fender (from Rubella Ballet), created a highly influential template that many other bands were to build on.

They released a cassette only live release on BBP tapes (www.bbprecords.co.uk) in 1984.

In 1984 Sonny Flint joined on drums, and they took on a sax and flute player Jane Keay. Pete Shepherd the original drummer switched to playing percussion.

Pete Fender departed early in 1984. Line-up changes were fairly frequent after this period and a 12" EP, "(It's a) Hard Life"/"Young John", was finally released in 1985 that showed a complete change of direction. By 1986, after the departure of vocalist and founder-member Hugh, the band was known simply as The Tribe. The band continued to maintain a presence on the UK live circuit for a further year or so but recording opportunity evaded them. Sonny Flint departed in 1987 and the band split in 1988.

Omega Tribe reformed briefly to play guest spot at Vi Subversa's 60th Birthday Bash at London's Astoria 2 in June 1995. A short incognito tour under the name of Charlie showed promise, but the band's members had other interests and the project was short-lived.

A compilation CD, Make Tea Not War, was released in 2000 on Rugger Bugger Records and a cut-down vinyl LP version was also pressed. Both albums quickly sold out.

In August 2016, Daryl Hardcastle, Hugh Vivian and Sonny Flint reunited and performed a limited number of dates between December 2016 and March 2017, including Vi Day at the 2017 AWOD Festival. At the end of March 2017, Sonny Flint left the band. Original members Vivian and Hardcastle having recruited new band members, are currently in pre-production for their forthcoming EP and are performing live throughout 2017.

View full biography

Band Members :   Rhod Burnett, Keith Gilles, Hugh Vivian, Daryl Hardcastle, Dan Sansom, Pete Shepherd

- Biography -

8 albums

Omega Tribe - Out Of My System

Out Of My System

2020 - United Kingdom
Vinyl 10"6 Tracks
Grow Your Own Records

Omega Tribe - Skin


2017 - United Kingdom
Punk, Post-Punk
CDr Album4 Tracks
Not On Label (omega Tribe Self-released)

Omega Tribe - Make Tea Not War

Make Tea Not War

2000 - United Kingdom
Vinyl LP14 Tracks
Rugger Bugger Discs

Omega Tribe - Live At The Clarendon

Live At The Clarendon

1984 - United Kingdom
Post-Punk, Experimental
Cassette Album10 Tracks
96 Tapes

Omega Tribe - It

It's A Hard Life

1984 - United Kingdom
Vinyl 7"2 Tracks
Corpus Christi

Omega Tribe - Live


1983 - United Kingdom
Cassette Album9 Tracks
Bbp Records

Omega Tribe - No Love Lost

No Love Lost

1983 - United Kingdom
Vinyl LP11 Tracks
Corpus Christi

Omega Tribe - Angry Songs

Angry Songs

1982 - United Kingdom
Vinyl 7"4 Tracks
Crass Records

- Videos Omega Tribe -

17 Videos

Last Update : 01 September 2021                   82,795